Omnis mundi creatura
für Countertenor und acht Kontrabässe
nach Texten von Alain de Lille (ca. 1120–1202)
(lateinische Sprache)
(bcp 201)
Score | 8 Parts | 38,– €

For the audience this composition for coun- tertenor and bass ensemble is a very special piece. „Transience“ is the topic of the Latin poem „Omnis Mundi Creatura“ written by the French monk Alain de Lille (ca. 1120–1202). The composition enlightens the eternal questions of life by means of modified chorals. The piece has a serious and contemplative character. Both poem and music are searching for hope, ending in a kind of a hymn. For players it is important to create a atmospheric sound for this „monastery music“.

für Sopran, Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Kontrabass
(bcp 202)
Score | 4 Parts | 36,– €

Poet Max Dauthendey (1867–1918) is one of the most distinguished representatives of impressionism in Germany. Dauthendeys life was embossed by his wanderlust and longing for the exotic places. Seven of his poems dealing with topics like „moon“, „night“ and „secrets“ were set to music in the seven pieces of „Mondgesänge“ (in German language).
The dark sound of a string quartet – consisting of a string trio and double bass – accompanies a lyrical soprano. Very suitable for every chamber concert!

Kleine Wesen
nach Gedichten von Joachim Ringelnatz
für Stimme und Kontrabass
(bcp 034)
Score | 16,– €

Poems by Ringelnatz always come along with a great deal of humor. There were six poems – in German language – chosen to be set to music from his children‘s book „Kleine Wesen“. The small things in life as „stone“, „spark“, „bubble“ or „water drop“ are personified and have to deal with different adventures. The music mainly is of an illustrious character and comes up with doleful passages, for example in „The Little Boy“, just as well as cheerful and joyous parts, as depicted in „The Little Girl“. „Kleine Wesen“ is also perfectly adequate for a grown-up audience.

Alfredo Casella
Suite 1920
for double bass trio

(bcp 114)
Score | 3 Parts | 23,– €

This Suite for bass trio consists of four movements and is based on piano pieces from „Pezzi Infanti“ op. 35 (1920) by the Italian composer Alfredo Casella (1883–1947). The movements „Bolero“, „Berceuse“, „Minuetto“ and „Galop final“ are inspired by southern Italian folk music and can be characterized through their typically playful and motorical rhythms. The first bass, leading the melody, should be experienced in thumb position. This piece is a great addition for bass trio and offers unique mediterranean flair!

Amoroso Giocoso
per quattro contrabbassi
(bcp 039)
Score | 4 Parts | 21,– €

The double bass quartet „Amoroso Giocoso“ is a cheerful piece of music, composed in commission of „Bassiona Amorosa“.
The audience will be surprised by the sudden interjections of the players yelling musical terms as „furioso“, „virtuoso“, „capriccioso“, „tumultoso“. The music humorously comments these characters. This groovy and funny piece is appropriate for ambitious bass quartets.

Gioacchino Rossini
Il Signor Bruschino – Overture
for two violins, viola, violoncello and double bass
(bcp 301)
Score | 5 Parts | 34,– €

The most famous part of Rossini’s opera „Il Signor Bruschino“ certainly is the Ouverture. The first performance in Italy caused a scandal, because the violinists were instructed to use their bows in a percussive way – knocking on the music stands. „Il Signor Bruschino“ is the last of five comical operas, which Rossini composed for Venice between 1810 and 1813. For the first time it is now available as an arrangement for string quintet.